As of January 2020, UNESCO has declared about 1121 unique sites of natural and cultural heritage as World Heritage Sites. Of these

  • 869 have cultural features
  • 213 have natural features
  • 39 have mixed.

The World Heritage Committee has divided the countries of the world into five geographical regions.

These are-

  1. Africa and the Arab region (including the Middle East)
  2. Asia-Pacific region (Australia and Oceania region)
  3. Europe and North America
  4. Latin America
  5. Caribbean region.

The world heritage committee lists new heritages in every year. Again, if not properly maintained, the declared heritage sites may be removed from the list.

Lotus Mahal Hampi Unesco Site Karnataka India

Every year the world heritage committee lists new heritages. The committee is elected for four years. This committee oversees the management of heritage sites in various parts of the world.

So far, 186 countries have signed the Convention Concerning the Protection of World Cultural and Natural Heritage.

Let’s take a look at some of the World Heritage Sites.

Mesa Verde is a wonder of the world.

Mesa Verde World Heritage Site

Yellowstone National Park is an American national park

Yellowstone National Park

Yellowstone National Park

USA World Heritage Sites List

World Heritage (WHS) are declared by UNESCO considering the leading natural and cultural features of the objects prevailing worldwide including the USA. There are 24 WHS in the USA. 21 Sites are single location sites, and 3 multi-part Sites surround several locations. Read More

Petra wonder of the world

Petra wonder of the world

Petra Jordan

The Great Pyramid of Giza is a unique example of Egyptian civilization

The Great Pyramid of Giza

The Great Pyramid of Giza

 1,170 total views,  1 views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *